//
you're reading...
Chicken, Main Dish, Meat, Recipes

Granny’s Fried Chicken…Kinda…

My great grandmother gave me her recipe for fried chicken close to twenty years ago.  At the time, I didn’t realize that I was the only person in the family with which she shared this recipe.  Let me start by saying I’m not going to give you her exact recipe, but it’ll be good enough to knock the socks off of anyone you make this for….that is, unless I come over for dinner and make Granny’s actual recipe, and then you will have the second best chicken in the house, but I can assure you, the danger of this happening is minimal.

One of the things that it took me some time to learn, is the balance of ingredients to create the proper thickness for the batter.  In addition, Granny didn’t use much oil at all to fry her chicken.  She just kept turning it, and it would come out golden reddish brown and so freaking crispy on the outside and moist on the inside that it was like biting into an apple.  Please tell me you get that reference.  Crisp on the outside, juicy on the inside…the only better way to describe it would be to compare it to awesome fried chicken and, well…that would be a little silly.

I don’t have measurements for this recipe, because Granny never gave me any.  What I can share is variation on the ingredients; what I’ve done to update it; and try as best as I can to describe how it’s supposed to taste.  You’re going to have to try this a few times before you get it perfect.  But if you keep trying, you will be sooooo glad you did.  So here are the important ingredients…

Chicken pieces (I prefer leg quarters, or a whole chicken cut in pieces)

Buttermilk

Whole Garlic

Granulated Garlic

Granulated Onion

Fresh Parsley (about a handful)

Fresh Thyme (two or three sprigs)

Salt

Pepper

Paprika (make sure you use good paprika)

Pour the buttermilk into a large freezer bag.  Season the buttermilk with the herbs and seasoning.  Before adding the garlic, removed the skin and smash 5 or six of the gloves and add them to the bag.  Close the bag completely (or you’ll make a mess), and mix it all together.  After rinsing your chicken pieces, add them to the buttermilk mixture and let them sit in the refrigerator overnight, or at least 8 hours.  When adding the salt, pepper, granulated garlic, and paprika, I’d keep the measurements to a couple of tablespoons.  If you use good paprika, you’ll need even less than that.  I use about a quart of buttermilk for one whole fryer chicken, which is usually 3 to 4 lbs of chicken.  These approximate measurements are based upon that amount of liquid.  I would change them based upon the amount of chicken and buttermilk, of course.

Another good soaking technique is to get up a bit early before work and mix this all up and let the chicken sit all day, and by the time you get home, it’ll be ready for the grease.  Granny used Crisco to fry her chicken.  While using Crisco is hands down the best way to go, this will work with regular vegetable or canola oil just fine.

This is where this recipe ends up being a bit different than your standard buttermilk fried chicken recipe…

Once the chicken is done soaking, take the pieces out of the mixture and transfer it to a large mixing bowl.  In another bowl, mix about two cups of flour with salt, pepper, paprika, and granulated onion and nothing else.  Season the chicken in the bowl with pepper, paprika, and granulated onion…no salt (that’s enough with the salt).

Now it’s time to roll up your sleeves and use your hands.  Mix the chicken in the bowl with the newly added seasoning.  Gradually adding the seasoned flour to the chicken, continue to mix it all together to create a batter on the chicken.  (BTW, you should be heating your oil while this is happening).  If the mixture gets too thick, like the consistency of dough, add a little water to loosen it up.  You may not need to use all of the flour mixture.  You’ll know you’re ready to fry when two things happen:  1. The grease is hot; and 2. The mixture in the bowl looks like this…

Fried Chicken

Take note of the colors.  All of that color is coming from the paprika.  We don’t really think about paprika having a serious impact, but this recipe is one that has really made me appreciate it.  Granny used to say “Don’t forget the paprika, no man wants light skinned chicken…I don’t care who he is.”  You’ll see what the paprika does to the chicken in just a minute.

Remember when I said Granny used Crisco shortening for this?  Well, she also used a cast iron skillet…also a very important element.  The one I use was given to my mother when my great great grandmother came to visit my parents in their first apartment and she realized Mommy didn’t have a cast iron skillet.  That was 35 years ago, and she’d already had this one for years…if you don’t have one, make the investment, trust me.

Getting back to this Crisco shortening.  She didn’t use a lot of it.  There was only ever about an inch or so of liquid in the pan at any given time, and she just took special care to keep turning the chicken.  The only alternative to this method, that I think works really well, is if you have a deep fryer large enough.  I’m not talking about a “Fry Daddy”, those don’t work as well for some reason.  This chicken calls for something more substantial.

If you opt for the cast iron skillet option, you may end up with a bit of a tightrope act with some of the pieces of chicken…whatever it takes to get it done.

Fried Chicken 1

Finally, you will have, what I like to call the “Chicken Kiev of fried chicken”, making a reference to the juice that will come squirting out upon your first bite.  This stuff is nothing but the TRUTH.  Anyone who tries it, please let me know how it turns out, and if I was unclear about anything.  Eat up!!

Fried Chicken 2

About Chef Myra

I'm an awesome chef who creates, finds, and eats amazing food...then blogs about it.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Instagram

I made lobster risotto on my IG story this evening.  I bought some lobster tails a couple of weeks ago, the last time Z wanted to have some meat, planning to have surf and turf, but we never made it past the turf (those short ribs were just heavenly), but I digress.  I froze the lobster tails and here we are.  I started out by placing an instacart order for the remaining ingredients to make lobster bisque, and then when the groceries were en route, I decided on risotto instead.  You can follow the basic steps in the IG story.  This one never disappoints and has infinite variations.  Master the risotto and you'll always have an impressive meal up your sleeve. #mymycooks #lobsterrisotto #dinnertime I'm making lobster risotto on my IG story... #mymycooks #lobsterrisotto #dinnertime I can't remember the first time I met Dick Gregory, but I remember the first time I heard his name...at breakfast one morning, some time in the '80s my mother pulled a gold canister of "Bahamian Diet" out of the cabinet, cut up some bananas, and put them in the blender with a couple of scoops from that canister, some yogurt,  strawberries, apple juice, and ice, and when she finished blending the concoction, she yelled out to Daddy "Bae!! The Dick Gregory is ready". Just about every morning after that until well into the 90's, I heard the same phrase, after a similar chain of events.  So, as you can imagine, the name "Dick Gregory" is synonymous with "home" for me.  One day I heard the name in reference to a man and told Daddy the man had the same name as his breakfast drink, and Daddy laughed and said "no baby, he makes the breakfast drink, that's why we call it that", and he officially introduced me to this giant.  Over the years growing up and living in this area, I've had the pleasure of spending quite a bit of time with Mr. Gregory...so much so that he knew me when he saw me, and would pick right back up with helping me prepare for "the last days" in each of our conversations.  Total preparation, not just to include preparation for the tangible, like what to have stockpiled to eat and drink, but how to mentally, spiritually, and emotionally prepare.  I've taken so many of these things to heart and remember the conversations fondly now.  My prayers are with his family as they maneuver through this difficult time.  I can't imagine the void that his passing has left, but knowing Baba Dick, they are certainly prepared.  Baba Dick, you've earned your reward, rest peacefully. My honey mentioned that his actual favorite kind of pizza crust is deep dish, but always opts for thin crust (his second favorite), since it's so difficult to find good deep dish pizza.  #currently mastering #deepdishpizza I have a couple of tricks up my sleeve...so far so good... #staytuned #mymycooks
