//
you're reading...
Dessert, Recipes

Stuffed Strawberries…You’re Welcome…

Are you guys addicted to Pinterest? What am I saying? OF COURSE YOU ARE! One of the things that I’ve discovered about Pinterest is that, when looking for new recipes to try, it doesn’t get any better. As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I frequently head to the grocery store with no menu in mind, and Pinterest is the perfect “on the spot” inspiration I need when I’m being forced to make a decision. I also don’t like serving the same things over and over again when I have people over, so it definitely gets the creative juices flowing in that way too.

Not too long ago, I was searching for recipes to serve at a game night at my house. I came across this one, and once I saw that it required me to actually make cheesecake, I immediately went into substitution mode. With the end result being so delicious, I can assure you, there’s no way going through the trouble of making actual cheesecake is going to make a noticeable difference here. It’s quick, easy, and delicious…and will definitely turn heads at a dinner party.

Here are a couple tips I learned the not so easy way.

1. You’re going to want to top these babies with whipped cream as soon as they’re assembled so they’ll be pretty. Stop yourself. Put them in the refrigerator to cool and only top with whipped cream when you’re ready to serve. I’m not gonna tell you why…just trust me…or learn on your own….your choice.

2. Because of the above, I wouldn’t recommend sitting this treat out on the table. I’d walk around and serve them while folks are waiting for the “table to be spread”, so to speak. Think amuse-bouche. It’s a delicate number that needs to stay pretty cold in order for it to maintain it’s form. They aren’t nearly as pretty, room temperature.

First things first, lets learn how to choose perfectly ripe strawberries. Here’s a good guide===> Amazing Strawberries

If you aren’t able to pick your own strawberries, or don’t have the courage to “create” your own perfect bunch of strawberries like my good friend Emmanuel (he literally goes through the different containers and takes the best strawberries from each, to make the perfect bunch…God bless him, lol), you’ll need a 2lb bunch to account for any potential duds in the group. This will do…

Strawberries

Then, the heart f it all…

Strawberries 2

In addition to the ingredients above, you need whipped cream. Not just any whipped cream…

Strawberries 3

Close your eyes for a minute and picture just one memory connected to Reddi Whip…ok, come on back. I keep Reddi Whip in my refrigerator because sometimes, in the middle of the night, you wanna trek to the kitchen, barefoot, with your sleep mask half on, and spray some sugary goodness right to the back of your throat, and go back to sleep (don’t act like I’m the only one who’s done this).

Now, for the assembly…

Cut the tops off of the strawberries, rinse them, and set them aside to dry. While they’re drying, prepare the filling according to the instructions on the box. There’s graham cracker crust in the box also. I didn’t use this when I made mine, but I’ve seen some recipes where folks sprinkled them on the top, and I thought it was super cuter. And I’m sure it adds a nice little crunch, and honestly, who doesn’t love a crunch? To do this though, I would suggest actually preparing the graham cracker crust according to the directions on the box. I would imagine not doing so would taste a bit like sawdust, and well….sawdust is gross.

You want to make an “X” cut on the top of each of your strawberries. (Be VERY careful not to cut too far down on the strawberries. This sounds easy enough, but I messed this up on a BUNCH of these. Think “cut halfway” and you’ll do just fine). Once you have them all cut, spoon your cheesecake mixture into a cake decorating bag, and attach the tip of your choice. (The tip you use for this really doesn’t matter, and I’m not REALLY into baking, so, I don’t have a preference either way….I will defer to your common sense). Next, you want to fill each strawberry with cheesecake.

Here’s a money saving tip: if you aren’t into baking, and don’t often need a cake decorating bag, you can substitute for recipes like this, where precision isn’t necessary, and use a freezer bag. Fill the bag with your filling, and cut off about 1/4 inch of the bag corner. Be careful not to cut too much, because the hole will inevitably get bigger as you fill the strawberries. Also, if you have long pointy fingernails (as I do), I’m gonna say this option isn’t for you. I kept poking holes all over the place and cheesecake was oozing out; I couldn’t get good pressure, it was a mess!

Anyway, it still all came together and here’s the gorgeous finished product…

Strawberries 4

About Chef Myra

I'm an awesome chef who creates, finds, and eats amazing food...then blogs about it.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Instagram

'Tis the season 🤦🏾‍♀️ Smh #theresnoluckinthatpot The prettiest #jambalaya I've ever made...instead of chicken, I opted for duck breast because...why not #duck instead of chicken, whenever humanly possible?! Also, this time of year, duck is much easier to come by (I swear it's been on my shopping list and replaced with whatever I was able to find, no less than three times this summer). Gorgeous, plump, and juicy #shrimp and my favorite turkey #andouillesausage 😍😍😍😍 #mymycooks In light of an unexpected care package from Cali, I'll be sharing the wealth tomorrow only, w/scratch made infused death by chocolate brownies (that's triple chocolate 😩). Send a message if you're interested.  Pick up in the city tomorrow only.  #mymycooks #mymybakestoo
