//
you're reading...
Chicken, Main Dish, Meat, Pasta, Recipes, Seafood, Shrimp

Rattlesnake Pasta

Let me start here…there’s no rattlesnakes in this dish.  I really don’t know why it’s called rattlesnake pasta, but that’s the universal name for it.  Usually it’s just chicken, but I like to go overboard in all things, so I do chicken, sausage, and shrimp.  This isn’t a recipe that I created myself, although I’ve definitely made it my own.  I’m sharing it because, every once in a while, I get a ridiculous craving for pasta, and this is one that I ALWAYS have the ingredients for, and it only takes about thirty minutes to make.  It’s spicy, creamy, filling, and delicious.  There’s nothing not to love about it.  My favorite way to eat it is sitting Indian style in the middle of my bed…I’ve even woken up in the middle of the night with a bowl of it sitting on my chest because I’ve literally passed out from the shear ecstasy of this gluttonous treasure.  Your judgement means nothing to me…

Choose any pasta you like.  You can make this as authentic, or quick as you want.  When I’m making this as a main course for a dinner party, I’ll go through the beautiful trouble of making homemade pasta.  Honestly, that’s what makes the big difference between pasta we make at home, and past we get at the restaurant.  They actually have the time, means, and equipment to make fresh pasta.  Find a recipe that doesn’t intimidate you, and try some of your own.  Once you’ve had fresh, homemade pasta, it’ll be hard to go back to the box.  As an alternative, for a quick solution, I use the store bought “fresh” pasta, and it lands somewhere in the middle.  I like a thicker noodle for this, so nothing smaller than linguini.

To begin, season boneless, skinless chicken thighs with salt, red and black pepper, and granulated garlic, and bake in oven until done.  While chicken is cooking, heat a large saute pan over medium heat, add oil to pan once it’s hot.  Slice 1 lb of smoked sausage, and cook until it starts to brown. Slice one whole jalepeno, red, and yellow pepper, and one large yellow onion.  Once sausage is brown, add vegetables to pan and toss.  Add minced garlic, red pepper flakes (to taste).  Add 1 lb of medium, shelled, deveined, shrimp, with tails removed and toss.  Once shrimp is cooked through, remove mixture from heat…it’ll be gorgeous and look like this…

IMG_5207

 

Start a pot of salted boiling water for pasta.  Cook Pasta and remove from water, and set aside.  Reserve water.

In a sauce pot, melt one stick of butter.  Gradually stir in 1/2 cup of flour and stir together until mixture is about the consistency of wet sand.  Once the mixture is blond in color, begin to stir in 1 quart of chicken stock.  Continue to mix until smooth and about the consistency of heavy cream.  Add more or less to achieve the necessary thickness.  Add one cup of milk to mixture and bring to a simmer.  Add 2 cups of parmesan cheese, and stir until melted.  Season sauce with salt, red pepper, and granulated garlic.  If the sauce is too thick, add a table spoon of pasta water.

Slice baked chicken, and add to meat mixture, and combine with pasta and sauce.  Serve with red pepper flakes.  This thing is supposed to be HOT…but not everybody likes it like that, so serve them on the side…voila!!  It’s not pretty, but it’s freaking delicious!!

IMG_5208

 

IMG_5210

About Chef Myra

I'm an awesome chef who creates, finds, and eats amazing food...then blogs about it.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Instagram

'Tis the season 🤦🏾‍♀️ Smh #theresnoluckinthatpot The prettiest #jambalaya I've ever made...instead of chicken, I opted for duck breast because...why not #duck instead of chicken, whenever humanly possible?! Also, this time of year, duck is much easier to come by (I swear it's been on my shopping list and replaced with whatever I was able to find, no less than three times this summer). Gorgeous, plump, and juicy #shrimp and my favorite turkey #andouillesausage 😍😍😍😍 #mymycooks In light of an unexpected care package from Cali, I'll be sharing the wealth tomorrow only, w/scratch made infused death by chocolate brownies (that's triple chocolate 😩). Send a message if you're interested.  Pick up in the city tomorrow only.  #mymycooks #mymybakestoo
