//
you're reading...
Dessert

Red Berry Cobbler

With all of the snow we’ve been getting this year, I’ve been making a lot of super simple comfort food.  I promise, once the weather breaks, we’ll get into some of my more intricate recipes, but right now, this is all I’m cooking…AND eating.  Somehow, I’ve managed to keep my weight down…I’m not complaining, I’m just sayin’…

I’ve never been a fan of peach pobbler, it’s a consistency issue.  But I love the concept of cobbler, and have loved just about every other fruit cobbler I’ve tasted.  This is a super simple recipe for Red Berry cobbler that will satisfy your sweet tooth in no time flat.  I’m assuming you’re the kind of people that keep cool whip or vanilla ice cream in your freezer.  If not, you’ll need to start…there’s always a use for cool whip, or vanilla ice cream.

You’ll need 1 stick of melted butter (stop it with the margarine), 1 cup of flour, 1 teaspoon of baking powder, 1 cup of whole milk (stop it with the reduce fat), 1 1/4 cup of BROWN SUGAR (regular granulated sugar could work, but trust me, I’ve done it with both and the brown sugar is heavenly), 2 cups of red berries (fresh, frozen, or canned).

IMG_5076Combine your dry ingredients and mix well in a mixing bowl.  Add in your milk and mix, then add in the butter and mix well.  If you have an electronic mixer, this process will take about two seconds.  The mixture will be thick, but don’t worry, it’s supposed to be.  Butter a baking dish and pour the mixture into the baking dish.  If your berries are fresh, be sure to rinse them, and pat them dry.  If the berries are frozen, be sure to defrost them.  If they’re canned, just pour them evenly over the dough/batter mixture.  Sprinkle fresh or frozen berries evenly over the dough mixture after they’ve been patted dry, and sprinkle with more sugar.  No need to add more sugar to canned berries.  Place the baking dish in a preheated 350 degree oven.  The cobbler is done when the batter is set and the it looks like a cobblestone street…get it?  Cobblestone…cobbler… I’m a little goofy, but I really got a kick out of that epiphany.  I don’t even know if it’s right, but it makes good sense.  Anyway, the picture to the left, shows my cobbler when it’s about ten minutes from completion.  The batter was still a bit raw in the middle.

IMG_5081

 

 

 

 

Once it’s ready, pull it out of the oven and serve immediately.  This is one of those dishes that’s so easy to prepare for a dinner party.  You can mix it really quickly before sitting down for the main course, and the smell of butter, brown sugar, and berries, will fill the house while you’re eating dinner.  And just as everyone is preparing to push back from the table and undo their belts, they’ll be lured back in by the euphoric aroma.  And then everyone gets one of these, with a dollop of fresh out of the freezer cool whip.

About Chef Myra

I'm an awesome chef who creates, finds, and eats amazing food...then blogs about it.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Instagram

'Tis the season 🤦🏾‍♀️ Smh #theresnoluckinthatpot The prettiest #jambalaya I've ever made...instead of chicken, I opted for duck breast because...why not #duck instead of chicken, whenever humanly possible?! Also, this time of year, duck is much easier to come by (I swear it's been on my shopping list and replaced with whatever I was able to find, no less than three times this summer). Gorgeous, plump, and juicy #shrimp and my favorite turkey #andouillesausage 😍😍😍😍 #mymycooks In light of an unexpected care package from Cali, I'll be sharing the wealth tomorrow only, w/scratch made infused death by chocolate brownies (that's triple chocolate 😩). Send a message if you're interested.  Pick up in the city tomorrow only.  #mymycooks #mymybakestoo
