//
you're reading...
Appetizers, Recipes, Seafood, Shrimp

Stuffed Shrimp Toast

Happy New Year everyone!!!  2014 was nothing short of fantastic…so much so, that I didn’t have many free moments to update the blog.  You’ll be happy to know that I’ve committed to doing so on a much more regular basis in 2015.  I hope everyone is recovering nicely from their New Year’s Eve festivities, and haven’t been too unrealistic, as it pertains to New Year’s resolutions (I haven’t made any, and I’m totally confident in my ability to see that through to the end of the year).

New Year’s Day brings a number of culinary traditions: Black eyed peas for luck, collard greens for money, cornbread for gold…I”m sure there are at least 18 more foods that promise health, wealth, and prosperity for the coming year.  The only issues for me are that, I hate black eyed peas; I’ve been eating collard greens to the point of almost TURNING green, between Thanksgiving and Christmas; and I’m going to the beach in a few weeks, so cornbread isn’t exactly going to contribute to my aspirations of a svelte physique in the near future.  However, there was no way that I’d let the day go by without making something special.  So, I settled on Red Beans and Rice (the universe should honor any kind of bean in exchange for good luck, right?), Seafood Chowder (because I was watching an episode of Barefoot Contessa last week and it looked amazing), and Stuffed Shrimp Toast (because I caught the buy 2 get 3 free sale on shrimp at Harris Teeter a few weeks ago, AND because…nevermind, you’ll see why).

I love cheese and all manner of dairy; except, I’ll never drink a glass of milk…go figure.  I’m also something like a rebel, so when I came up with the idea of a cheesy shrimp toast, a little voice in my head started to talk about how dairy and seafood don’t go together; and then I decided I was gonna go completely insane and add cheese, sour cream, AND mayo…I told you I’m a rebel.

This is super simple and delicious.  I’m pretty sure it would work well with crawfish or crabmeat, as well.  I’m a huge fan of dipping sauces, and I’d go for a simple marinara with this one.  Now onto the good stuff…

This recipe makes four pieces of Shrimp Toast, and you’ll probably cut each of those in half when serving.  I’m always leery of quoting number of servings with something so delicious because under the right circumstances, this could be a serving for one.  Let’s be a little less greedy and say one recipe serves four…and away we go…

Ingredients:

1/2 lb Large Shrimp (cleaned…you know what this means) rough chopped

1 tablespoon Vegetable Oil

1/4 cup yellow onion, diced

1/4 cup green onion, green parts, no white

2 tablespoons fresh parsely, minced

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 teaspoon fresh group black pepper

1/2 teaspoon creole seasoning

1/2 teaspoon dry mustard

1/2 teaspoon onion powder

3 tablespoons sour cream

1 1/2 tablespoons mayonnaise

1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

1 French Baguette (preferably whole grain)

  • Stuffed Shrimp ToastPreheat oven to 375 degrees.
  • Heat saute’ pan over medium heat and add oil.
  • Once oil is hot, add yellow onion, green onion, parsley and garlic.  Cook for three minutes, stirring occasionally.
  • Add shrimp and seasonings and cook until shrimp is done.
  • Turn off heat.
  • Add sour cream, mayonnaise and cheese to shrimp mixture, and mix well.
  • Cut baguette in half lengthwise and crosswise and hollow out each piece in the middle. (don’t go overboard, there should be about a half inch wide “river” running down the middle of the bread)
  • Place bread on a non-stick cookie sheet and divide the shrimp mixture between each piece.
  • Place in preheated oven and cook for 15 minutes.
  • Turn oven to broil and finish when bread is bubbly and golden brown. (don’t walk away from the bread…don’t do “something else”, you will inevitably burn it)
  • Serve hot with marinara dipping sauce.

About Chef Myra

I'm an awesome chef who creates, finds, and eats amazing food...then blogs about it.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Instagram

'Tis the season 🤦🏾‍♀️ Smh #theresnoluckinthatpot The prettiest #jambalaya I've ever made...instead of chicken, I opted for duck breast because...why not #duck instead of chicken, whenever humanly possible?! Also, this time of year, duck is much easier to come by (I swear it's been on my shopping list and replaced with whatever I was able to find, no less than three times this summer). Gorgeous, plump, and juicy #shrimp and my favorite turkey #andouillesausage 😍😍😍😍 #mymycooks In light of an unexpected care package from Cali, I'll be sharing the wealth tomorrow only, w/scratch made infused death by chocolate brownies (that's triple chocolate 😩). Send a message if you're interested.  Pick up in the city tomorrow only.  #mymycooks #mymybakestoo
